Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

These days, the number of pedestrians on the streets has significantly declined due to several reasons. Therefore, there are some possible solutions to change this situation that I will mention in this essay.

There are two primary reasons why fewer people walk every single day. Firstly, manifold modern types of transport have been invented such as cars, trains, motorbikes. Obviously, these vehicles would be more effective and beneficial for people since they are faster compared to walking and can prevent commuters from extreme weather. Another reason is that walking might be unsafe because there are no pavements or just small ones on the streets. Also, in some developing countries, like Vietnam or Indonesia for example, dwellers are taking over the sidewalks for their personal purposes.

However, measures must be taken to tackle this problem. One solution would be for the governments to invest in building larger pavements and replacing the degraded ones. Furthermore, the governs should impose regulations on people using the sidewalks illegally. Last but not least, it is necessary for companies to encourage employees going yo work on foot by having a special strategy like easing restrictions on working hours.

In conclusion, by the act of the authority, the problem that fewer people walk can be solved.