It is important to ensure that children with a wide range of abilities and from a variety of social backgrounds mix with each other at school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The type of education our children are exposed is an issue that concerns every parents. One may opt for an academic background with less diversity or one rich in social, gender and racial diversity. It is my firm belief that the more diverse a place is, the better, for a number of reasons, that I will develop in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, the best place for us to learn how to deal with people from different backgrounds, is the school. This particular type of institution, is extremely important since it englobes the stage where we are forming our own opinions, beliefs and creating our own vision of the world. As a result, studying in a plural environment, helps to develop skills such as respect, interpersonal abilities, emphaty and several others.

Secondly, someone exposed to a variety of people on early ages have a better understanting of others and its struggles. Those raised in a place where the culture of respect to diversity has been valorized, tends to have less conflits at their jobs and among friends, besides that, they cooperate more and deal better with disagreements in every sphere of their lives. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my personal experience. During my scholar life I was able to be in touch with people from different races, religions and social positions; due to this fact, it became easier for me to understand how every single person can see the world in a distinct way and how to better cooperate with them, specially in the business life.

In conclusion, children educated in a place with a variety of social background become a more complex human being, more capable of understading and respecting others.