In many countries traditional food is being replaced by international fast food. This has negative effects on both families and societies. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Eating fast food has become a commonplace for the general public in this day and age. People are enjoying the fast service and delicious food products, such as KFC and pizza-hut. However, I am of the opinion that this phenomenon has negative impact on domestic lives as well as communities.

Firstly, the proliferation of fast food satisfies the needs of working families who are characterized by irregular working hours, allowing them to eat at anytime and anywhere. Despite the convenience of international franchised food industry, the consumption of this type of food would undermine the family bond. People are less likely to spend on time family meal. Since cooking at home allows family members to gather frequently and exchange their opinions on the table, and most likely, to resolve the conflicts among the different family members. In the contrast, if people choose not to eat at home habitually, this would probably weaken their emotional ties between each other.

Secondly, in spite of the economic benefits that stems from fast food chain, such as the increasing demand for meat products, it has inevitably posed a threat to the society. For one, the consumption of fast food is believed to have a strong correlation with healthy issue. For example, compared to traditional cooking method which emphasize a balanced diet, fast food such as fried chicken are regarded as one of the key contributing factors to obesity and overweight. For another, the cultural erosion can be partially attributed to fast food. Since young people are less likely to be exposed to authentic family meal. As a result, traditional cooking skills and culture may be on the brink of extinction with the passage of the time.

In conclusion, fast food does not only pose threats to family relationship, but also to people’s health and cultural aspects, although it has changed our living patterns and stimulated the local economy.