Many young people choose to take a year off between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life like this offers benefits the individual when they return to education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, taking a year off before going to university is another path that some people are interested. This is because, some people hold the aspect that gaining non academic experience can be very useful and contribute students to become success in education. Personally, I disagree with this belief for a couple reasons.

First and foremost, it is no point to taking a gap year, if a student will return to higher education anyway. Taking time off from school will certainly waste student’s time. Even only one year off for spending time to travel or work, it has tremendously impacts to students’ perspectives and habits such as delaying in academic progress and losing good study behaviors. Abandoning a year in academic, students will graduate delay than others. When students return to a university, they might lose much of knowledge from high school and could not catch up with their peers due to struggling to review fundamental knowledge.

Even though there are some benefits from exploring the world or working during a gap year off, the disadvantages are still more than advantages, which is not worth to off schooling. Considering in disadvantageous points, giving up further education can happen high possibly in among of students. Earning a lot of money from work is very appealing for younger people; as a result it might convince them to abandon pursuing in professional lines. According to some studies have revealed that almost a third of students who take a year off will not come back to study in a higher degree.

In conclusion, the benefits of taking a year out from finishing high school might not worth to waste precious time to spend on counterproductive activities such as travelling, which affects several aspects in academic process such as lost disciplines on study habits or give up in professional dreams. However, I would strongly recommend youths to pursue their studies continuously.