The position of women has changed a great deal of in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality.

To what extent you agree or disagree?

The role of women has become more important than ever before and this has been considered as an enormous change in developing as well as developed countries. Some people argue that it also has disadvantages for women compared to that of men. To my mind, I completely agree with this viewpoint for several reasons.

First of all, it cannot be denied that the position of women has converted positively. More and more young women have become political leaders in different countries or become more successful in doing business. What is more, there are varieties of beneficial policies in the fields of education, labour and training career for females. For example, in Vietnam, female students pay less tuition than male students do or many companies have cut down working hours in a week for female employees. In other words, women are being much more concerned than the past.

However, women are being suffered harshly by inequality of sex. Although women have become leaders and participated in social organizations, the rate of women has been still low. In some underdeveloped and developing countries, women are being in severe pressure of spending a large amount of time looking after children. As a result, these females do not have opportunities to devote their capacities to society. Furthermore, some employers usually have priority over men when there has a recruitment of both manual workers as well as highly well-qualified employees. More seriously, women are victims of the results of the family violence in some countries.

It seems to me that there have been significant changes for women for a half century. This still sustains negative issues for females in modern society relating to unequal sex. To make more significant progress, government need to have more beneficial policies for women.