With the pressures on today's young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The job market today is becoming more and more competitive. This has led some to believe that students must devote their entire energy in preparing themselves for a successful career. Hard-line views have emerged that call for the abolishment of non-academic subjects at school. In this essay, these views will be briefly explored for further analysis.

Certain groups of concerned parents are beginning to advocate for the removal of non-academic subjects from the school curriculum. These subjects include physical education, cookery, as well as arts and crafts. It is perceived that these subjec...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.