Some people prefer shopping in shopping centers while others prefer local markets. What are the advantages of each? Which shopping experience do you prefer?

A form of shopping that has recently emerged and has been speculated to replace outdoor markets is shopping malls. On one hand, I am inclined to believe that people shop at malls for the sake of convenience. On the other hand, hardly are local market concepts of bygone days.

To assess the reason why people are seemingly attracted to shopping centres, we must bring the technological development into focus. Assuming we were to buy something in a rush, it would be the shelves of good being neatly arranged by categories that allow us to look for what we need effortlessly. In addition, our shopping experience not only is more hygienic, due to freezers and cooling systems, but the food also is of higher quality because it has to undergo strict inspection. Having chosen the items of interest, customers can have those items conveniently delivered to their front door. They do not even have to bring cash as virtually all shopping centers accept plastic money such as credit cards and Apple Wallet.

Although it is easy to see that shopping malls are gaining popularity, we must also put the benefits of local markets into perspective before judging whether one is better than the other. Unlike foods that are frozen, which let them stay longer on the aisles of shopping centers as well as supermarkets, foods from traditional brick and mortar open-air markets are freshly picked from the farms and sold only during the day. Besides, market-goers can negotiate the price in an attempt to find the most affordable one for their budgets. Meanwhile, the cost of an item in a retailer shop is both fixed and expensive most of the time. Another benefit which shopping centers do not offer is making a purchase without to park personal vehicles. For instance, it is not surprising to find a Vietnamese riding his motorbike to do the weekly shopping from one stall to another in a local market.

Taking into account the advantages of shopping at the mall and the local market, I arrive at the conclusion that both of the shopping locations are equally effective and equally meet my needs. Thinking shopping centers will one day replace local markets is an interesting notion, but I believe this will not happen for many years to come.