Some people think planning future is a waste of time and people should focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued whether people should plan for their future or just seize the present. Personally, while I agree with the idea that living on present is important, I do believe that future planning also contribute to people’s success.

There are several reasons for why I would argue that making plans for future could benefit people. Firstly, people with future plans could be more motivated. While they are making plans, people can break the ultimate goal into several short-term goals which are much more easier to be accomplished than the long-term one. Secondly, by making plans, people can organize and improve their time management so that they could have their jobs down on time. For example, in order to finish a dissertation on time, a student should schedule his time into different sessions for material gathering, proposal writing and dissertation writing. Finally, people sometimes need to make plans in advance for those undesirable incidents, such as signing a health insurance contract.

I also believe that seizing the present enables people to fulfill their plans and to make some achievements. After making plans, people should take actions to conduct their plans, otherwise planning future would be nothing but a waste of time. At the same time, focusing on the present can examine whether the plans are practical for people to implement, otherwise people could alter their plans. Also, concentrating on current issues can prevent people from feeling panic about the unpredictable future and perform better in their daily lives.

In conclusion, my view is that either planning for future or seizing the present is important to a people’s lives. A well combination of them would benefit people greatly in their ways of pursuing success.