Team activities can teach more skills for life than other activities which are played alone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic whether people will learn more in team activities than the individual ones is of concern of many parents and teachers. Some suggest that participating in more group works help people to learn how to cooperate with their teammates while others have a different opinion. As for me, I think both of them are beneficial.

Those who assert team work hold the following reasons. Firstly, through a group work, people will develop interpersonal skills and cooperation. As team activities require all team members to complete tasks or solve problems together, one will need to make an effort to contribute to the team by sharing ideas and delivering good work on time. In this way, all team members will develop communication skills, conflict managements and cooperation abilities through the team work experience. Secondly, team activities enable participants to learn from others. By joining a group, participants will have a chance to meet people of diverse cultural backgrounds, ages and educational levels, allowing them to learn the good qualities from their fellows.

However, on no account should we ignore the values of individual activities. To start with, people will gain self-learning skills and self-discipline. For example, when students are doing an assignment just on their own, they have to tackle all difficulties without relying on other members, thereby enhancing self-thinking skills and boosting self-confidence. Besides, there are some activities which are not suitable to join with others. Some relaxed activities such as listening to music and fishing are only good for people to do alone. The purpose of these recreations is to help working people to escape from sophisticated daily tasks without being disturbed by others, thus, giving them the opportunity to enjoy self-relaxation.

To sum up, I believe everyone should attempt both individual and team activities as people will acquire different skills from them.