There are fewer and fewer employment opportunities for graduates entering the job market and this will have serious implications for higher educations. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

In the high competitive world these days, getting a job is not easy anymore. Many job seekers having a high degree are still struggling in looking for a job. Some assert that this unfortunate situation leads to several effects to among unemployed graduates. Personally, I agree with this expectation for couple reasons.

Before considering about the implications, the cause of this change need to be discussed first. As many old professionals still keep working in their positions, this tendency definitely causes in an decrease in the number of job prospects for the young. Although older professionals, refusing to retire, commit to work for unpaid jobs, sometimes they just do not welcome new professionals to get in a profession. Without these old professionals, it is obviously seen that there are plenty of job openings available for graduates.

Secondly, the numbers of graduates in undemanding fields are always many times more than the job vacancies. This is because, educational institutions excessively produce undemanding graduates into a job market. For example, students studying art and music are much more than the actual job demands, as a result, graduates from these lines are less likely to get a decent job.

Moreover, in term of financial and time investment, most of university students get loan for their higher education. The unemployed graduates would suffer in financial crisis and could not pay off the debt, if they are still insecure in their jobs. In addition, finishing a high degree is very time-consuming as sometimes graduates have to spend up to a decade to achieve master or doctoral levels. If they cannot work as a professional in their fields, these several years mean nothing and become obsolete eventually.

In conclusion, there are many serious implications for young graduates these days from the shortage of employment opportunities. Investing time and money on lower demanding fields might lead to job insecurity later. However, other uncontrolled factors such as the aging professionals and the over-producing graduates from universities need to be considered as well.