There are many different types of music in the world today. What do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Most of people around the world enjoy listening the music, which can be proofed by the existence of music in many different places. Generally, there are several types of music nowadays such as pop, rock, country, jazz and etc. The development of music variations today lead to some heated debates about which are the best necessary between traditional and international music. The issue is debatable, and this essay aims to explain more in detail about it.

Although music is not the basic need of human life, it still has a very big impact on people daily life. We can hear music everywhere for almost twenty four hours, for instance in the television show, radio, department stores, restaurants and so on. It looks like music is something that cannot be separated from human, as music is not only be seen as music, but also provides more than just sounds and rhythms. Generally, there are four important aspects of music. Firstly, music becomes a tool to deliver a feeling or message which it is seen as an effective method to make people understand what they are thinking by using a song. Like what Justin Bieber wrote in his song untitle “I’ll Show You”. Secondly, music can be used to record a memory. When we are in an important meeting and they play some music instruments, every time we hear the same music, we will rewind that meeting. Thirdly, music is a beautiful art that people use to entertain other. A proper music can switch people’s mood, for instance, if we are bad mood and listening to “Happy” song by Pharrel Williams, we can easily move our body and start to dance. In addition, music also becomes a proper job that can produce much money, like what international singer such as Beyonce and Anggun C. Sasmi do.

But unfortunately, the trend of international music leads to the decreasing number of traditional music. Traditional music is one of an important heritage that our ancestors gave for us. Each region has their own traditional music which is generally represent the wealthy of their culture. But in this modern era, there are only a few people who still listen and play into these kind of music. Whereas, the traditional music is really important in order to keep human native identity. The young generations need to take some actions to conserve the traditional music, so it cannot be vanished by the popularity of international music.

To sum up, both of them are important in human life. But we have to take care about the existence of traditional music while enjoying international music, so both of them can still exist in harmony.