There has been a huge increase in the sizes of the cities. Many cities have grown in an haphazard way. Why is careful planning important in the development of cities?

Over the last years, many cities have grown in an unsystematic way. As a result, infrastructure of these cities are facing some problems. The best way to tackle this issue is to make careful plans for developing of these cities. In this essay I will look at the reasons why careful planning is so important and how they can positively impact on life in cities.

Firstly, it is common to see in many countries, especially in developed countries, a row of vehicles on the road that get stuck in traffic jam. The main reason for this is that infrastructure of roads in these countries are very dated and are not able to afford so much cars or other means of transport. If government improve the infrastructure of transport systems with a careful plan, there is no doubt that most of traffic problems will be reduced.

Secondly, we can observe a dramatic increase in the number of factories in many big cities which negatively affect to many aspects of the life there. What I meant by this is that factories in many cities were built in separate places and as a result factory pollution is spread all over the city. Although factories built in different places of the city can allow people to commute to work that are in short distance to their home, I think it is more advisable to relocate them to one place so as to accumulate all pollution in this place. Of course, it does not mean that any measures must not be taken to completely reduce pollution in this place in order to provide safer work conditions for workers.

To sum up, careful planning plays an important role in the development of cities. While it can reduce significantly traffic congestion, it can also improve air quality there.