Volunteer work organised by middle schools brings more benefits than problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Engaging in extra curricular activities is an effective way for students to achieve the study-life balance. It has been argued that students can benefit from volunteering. From my point of view, I tend to agree with the statement, though a few issues related to this need to be closely considered.

From students perspective, devoting themselves into volunteer work can hone their abilities and broaden their horizons. To begin with, students sometimes are required to deal with a large amount of complicated situation independently. For example, they have to learn how to communicate with the disabled person such as those are deaf and blinded. This helps young students improve their problem solving skills. At the same time, it is also the personal perspective towards societies that benefit from community services. It displays the hardship of surviving in the real world to middle-school students, helping them to appreciate their parents' hard-work and dedication for their families rather than taking something for granted. However, one worrying issue relating to this is that occasionally, the value of volunteer work is discounted. More often than not, people find a number of community service are not well-organized, so it can lead to the over-use of volunteers' time and energy.

From communities perspectives, volunteer work is recognized as one of the decent means to tackle several social issues. This is particularly true in the case of assisting homeless people and animals, because by far there is a lack of statutory law and government subsidiary aiming at these matters. If there is no volunteering, these issues may undermine the social cohesion. For example, some homeless people may commit crime, such as robbery and thieving

In summary, the discussion of these factors has made a justification that volunteer work is of great importance not only to students but also to communities.