All children should be given a free laptop when they start high school. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that students should be equipped with technological gadgets as soon as they enter to secondary school. I completely disagree with this viewpoint in as much younger children may have faster understanding and if they do not learn how to use this tool, they will be struggling in their daily activities at school.

Although the generation of millennials or X kids were already born with developed skills at using computers, still they need to be taught how to use them correctly at an early age. It means that we need to approach them before they start their education at school in order to take advantage of their quick learning skill in this stage. Then once they reach the high school level will be much easier for them. For example, my father gave a laptop toy when I was only 3 years old, and it allowed me to get familiarized with the keyboard and touchscreen.

Yet another reason why students should learn computer skills before turning into high school is that otherwise they will be in disadvantage against their classmates. In today´s real school, kids start using computer since they enter into preschooler level, because computer are powerful tool that helps to learn and this tool will be used for the rest of their educational life and after that same tool will be used in the working stage. To illustrate, due to the pandemic so many kids are having classes online vía ZOOM video.

To sum up, even though some parents expect the school to do everything for them, I believe kids should learn first at home. And once they enter to school they will be ready to add new skills to their life or even get involved in a better way.