English is becoming the most prominent language in the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having only one language in the world?

English is increasingly prevalent in most parts of the world, which leads to the tendency of speaking one language within society. While there are certain benefits, I believe that its drawbacks should be taken into consideration.

Indeed, having a sole language spoken could incredibly benefit several aspects of people's lives. Most importantly, this allows people to communicate with each other regardless of language barriers, which may prevent them from understanding what others say. For instance, in such environments as universities or colleges, all students could take advantage of being able to speak one language to exchange their academic studies and learn from each other without being confused in misleading and misunderstanding contexts. Hence, daily communications would happen more effectively, and people might experience a higher standard of living. Second, learning a language may be challenging and demanding, which is considered as time-consuming to achieve language proficiency. Therefore, speaking one language helps their lives easier.

However, alongside the benefits of this tendency, I believe that people should not dismiss its drawbacks. One language spoken by the majority of people could not provide thorough insights into different cultures and traditions, which are contributing factors in cultural and traditional diversity. Therefore, they may experience a sense of monotony, which causes them to become tedious and dull in daily routines. For instance, if people just speak one language to others no matter where they travel to, even traveling abroad, they could not find themselves interested and attracted in new factors. Besides, this trend would accordingly cause people with linguistic skills to lose their language intelligence. Consequently, they are likely to be lazy in discovering the world.

In conclusion, although some aspects are proven to be beneficial for humans in terms of global communication in one language, I think that the mentioned disadvantages would have a long-lasting effect on their lives.