In general, people do not have such a close relationship with their neighbours as they did in the past. Why is this so, and what can be done to improve contact between neighbours?

It is commonly know fact that people tend to not be so close with their neighbours as they were before. In this essay I will explain reasons of that and ways to improve relations as well as contact between neighbours.

First of all, nowadays life is different than before, because people have much more ways of spending their leisure time. For instance within almost every major municipality there are many enjoyable facilities like i.e. shopping centers, swimming pools, bowling clubs as well as cinemas. Secondly there is also quite modern invention, which is the internet. People can communicate with old friends, family every time they want and that is possible reason why they do not feel any need to have close relations with their neighbours.

According to improving contact between neighbours, there are many ways to do so. For example it is still quite popular, especially within inhabitants of suburbs to organise parties on their neighbourhoods. Furthermore, in cities especially, there are many playgrounds for children. Investing in such facilities may encourage children to go out more often. As children are not fully independent, many parents have to keep them and that is why I believe that playgrounds are perfect places for making friends, not only for children, but even parents, who may find keeping their descendants more interesting while socialising.

To conclude, there are many reasons why it is so often to people to not have any bond with their neighbours; however, in my opinion main cause is that cities have more to offer than in past and people are unable to manage time for either neighbours and local facilities. Although, it can be changed with simple initiatives like organising neighbours parties.