The idea of going overseas for university study is an exciting prospect for many people. However, while it may offer some advantages, some people believe it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulty a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays studying abroad has increased significantly, and as a result it has become a widely discussed topic. It is often claimed that studying university abroad would lead to a promising outlook for the majority of students. However, many argue that it could lead to some detrimental effects on their lives.

Those who believe that studying university domestically is a better choice often cite these arguments to support their claim. First, studying abroad could be expensive. When studying abroad, students would have to cover a myriad of living costs. These costs include travel expenses, local transportation, accommodation, and food. Furthermore, moving to a new country may result in culture shock due to a sudden shift to a new culture. Extensive differences in food, religious practice, transportation systems and fashion styles could make students prone to anxiety and depression.

On the other hand, studying abroad is believed to be beneficial for students for the following reasons. Firstly, it would help promote a student’s personal development to a great extent. As a matter of fact, being alone in a country would pressure students to be more independent and responsible to survive. Other than that, being exposed to different cultures in a foreign country may offer a student various perspectives and approaches towards work and life. Apart from boosting personal development, studying abroad also grants students advantages over domestic students in career opportunities. As it is a common belief that overseas students has better foreign language skills and are quicker in adapting themselves into a new environment.

In summary, although there is some evidence to support claim that it’s better to study university in one’s home country, I am inclined to believe that studying abroad is a better choice because it would help students to be smarter, more independent, therefore, have more chances to succeed in life.