Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problem has become a big issue many people discuss about in the past decade. Some believe that it is a responsibility of governments and big companies to tackle this issue, as individuals do not have enough power to create a change in this situation. I personally strongly disagree with this statement.

One of the reasons why I disagree with the aforementioned statement is that individuals have more influence on environment than they believe they have. In everyday life, some habits are not considered very environmentally-friendly; for example, the overuse of plastic. My country, in which the law of plastic-use restriction has not been fully implemented, people always ask for extra plastic bags whenever they go out shopping and never recycle them properly. In contrast, for those countries where people are properly educated about the environmental problems and the use of plastic is limited, the massive reduction in the use of plastic bag can be explicitly noticed.

Another reason is that the environmental issue, such as ozone layer depletion, results directly from the emission of toxic gases; therefore, if individuals limit the use of personal vehicles and commute by public transportation, the level of exhaust fumes, I believe, will be significantly lower. To illustrate, in developed countries, where people tend to use personal cars to travel, the amount of poisonous gases emitted from their vehicles is drastically higher as opposed to that of toxic gases produced from both developing and under-developed countries combined.

In conclusion, I am convinced that people have more impact on the environment than they realise; hence, it is their responsibilities to take this into their consideration and adjust their behaviour to help alleviate this problem.