"Is It Harder to Grow Up in the 21st Century Than It Was in the Past? Why or Why not?"

From my perspective, it is an obvious fact that growing up in the 21st century is much harder than it was in the past.

First of all, as a student living in this period, I firmly believe that not only me but also many youngsters have to deal with school pressure which makes us find it difficult to grow up. In today’s society, parents put too much pressure on their children because they are aware of how competitive the world is becoming and they also would like the best for their children. Consequently, most adolescents are forced to take part in a variety of extra classes instead of running around outside or playing games. Moreover, the student has to bury themself in studies and cover a lot of grounds to get a degree as it is generally believed that they can not chase a top job without degrees or professional certificates.

Secondly, in the modern world, thanks to the development of technology, social media has a huge impact on the young generation and their life. Many people point out the advantages of social media such as being connected to distant friends, making friends easier, keep touch with family... However, the negative aspects of social media outweigh the positives for most teenagers growing up in the 21st century. For example, cyberbullying is a serious issue which can hurt many victims by only a negative word and even make them have thoughts of suicide.

With all that in mind, my answer would have to be: Yes. Growing up in the 21st century is harder than in years past because nowadays, people struggle with way too much social pressure.