In many cities, people can build houses and buildings freely in many styles. Do the ad. outweigh the disad.?

In many cities, people can design style and erect houses or buildings as the way they want. While there are several benefits of this freedom, I would argue that its drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, building houses according to personal architecture is more likely to create a great deal of unique buildings, which could help to boost tourism in these areas. A city with various types of houses or office buildings, for example, normally draws more attention of visitors than a place that has the same architectures. In addition, since individuals build houses based on their personal preference, they might have a chance to represent their artistic taste. This would make the architecture of houses in these cities getting more diversity.

On the other hand, I suppose that the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. Firstly, erecting houses or office buildings in different styles is able to make traditional or cultural values of these cities disappear. Take Hoi An city, which is one of the most ancient cities in the world, as an example. People living there are encouraged to preserve their old houses or construct new houses in traditional architectural styles. That is why this city keep maintaining cultural values. If people living in Hoi An built houses or office buildings in various styles, It would be difficult for this city to preserve and maintain their cultural values.

In conclusion, whereas erecting houses or office buildings based on people’s reference have several benefits, I would argue that its drawbacks are more significant.