Many governments around the world spend money advertising their country to tourists. Some people believe this money is well-spent, while others believe it is wasteful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is certainly the case that many countries paying money for promoting their tourism. Whether those advertisements really achieve their goals or are just a total waste of money is up for debate. In the following essay, I will present both sides of this tricky problem, and say why I consider the money spent on promotion of tourism to be wasteful.

It is often argued that there are a number of advantages when governments advertise their country to tourists. According to this view, a huge number of foreign travellers will be attracted by ads and visit that nation as a result. For example, many cities in Japan post adverts in metro stations in Taiwan to draw everyone’s attention. Consequently, those who want to take a trip will take those cities into consideration. Moreover, more visitors mean an increase in GDP and tax revenue. This is because tourists will spend money on lodging, meals, and transport. Therefore, from an economic perspective, it seems clear that the money spent on advertising is well-spent.

However, opponents of this view maintain that governments should not spend money on promoting tourism because it is not effective. For instance, although some places try to encourage people to go there by making a film or hiring famous stars as endorsers, tourists still may not have any interesting in those places. Furthermore, if the country does not have any special attraction which is different from other nations, no matter how much money governments spend, it is ineffective. Hence, advertising to attract travellers is a waste.

In conclusion, while I can see both sides of this issue, I personally believe that the expense of advertising tourism is unnecessary because most people will not be affected by it. Therefore, I would suggest that governments stop promoting, and use the funds to improve education or public buildings.