Many people are afraid to leave their home because of crime. Some believe that more action can be taken to prevent crime while other feel that little action can be done to stop crime. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Increasing crime wave restrict the people to come out of their houses. It is believed by some that multifarious actions are required to be taken to combat crime, whereas other felt that less number of actions can also help to curb the crime. In my opinion, enforcement of strict laws as well as harsh penalities would act as deterrent, however rehabiliation activites can be adopted in some cases.

It is evident that by enforcing stricts laws along with stringent punishment by goverment will help in preventing criminal activities. To elaborate, if jury of the nation is allowed to give capital as well as corporal punishments to the offenders of heinious crime, which will leave impact on the mind of wrong doers to think twice before violating any law. To cite an example, about 80% of crime rate is controlled in the countries, which introduced death sentence and life sentence as punishment for violent crimes

On the flip side, crime can be curbed with some actions by society and regime. What's more, no one is criminal by birth. Major root cause of law offending acts are poverty and illiteracy. It can be seen that most of the criminals are from poor strata of society. To elaborate, they do these kinds of offences because of lack of education and due to unemployment. Thus, by providing education and employment opportunities to them, crime rate could be controlled. To illustrate, 85% of criminal never indulge in illegal activities after releasing from imprisonment, if they are provided with appropriate rehabilitation services such as conselling sessions, vocational studies during imprisonment.

To conclude, government should impose life sentences or death penalities, if crime is harsh, otherwise it is not recommended to put a person behind the bars. Even a criminal has the right to change his mind for rest of his life by rehabilitation.