Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

With the advent of the internet and technological advances, online shopping has been becoming more and more prevalent in both affluent and low-income developing countries. However, this tendency might bring about both pros and cons to the environment and jobs, which will be examined in this essay.

Concerning the environment, it is plausible that e-shopping could result in carbon dioxide emissions reduction but increasing the use of plastic bags. On the one hand, door-to-door delivery stemming from online shopping is likely to facilitate consumers to steer clear of heading for supermarket, which, in turn, attributes to the plummeting number of car trips. As a result, carbon dioxide emissions from private cars for those trips tend to be reduced significantly, contributing to alleviating air pollution. On the other hand, online shopping might deteriorate the use of plastic bags. This is because supermarkets are necessary to take advantage of plastic bags to pack products prior to delivery. Consequently, plastic bags might gradually exacerbate soil pollution if these plastic bags are dumped in landfill sites.

In tandem with this, online shopping also brings about both advantages and disadvantages to jobs. Regarding the plus point, what e-shopping might benefit is to provide job seekers with a plethora of vacancies. IT employers, for instance, are inclined to devise an array of brand-new web-based shopping platforms or applications to meet the soaring requirements of customers, which might open up job opportunities for IT workers. Nonetheless, the breakthroughs in online shopping might lead to the soaring unemployment rate in retail shop owners. To be more specific, what retail shops fail to cater for customers is the lack of fast delivery service along with the shortage of necessary products, which might hinder consumers from goods purchase. Thus, it is mighty that retail shop owners could face the loss of their business.

In conclusion, the transformation of the internet and technology has promoted the boom of online shopping in every corner of the world. However, this trend might have both positive and negative impacts on the environment and jobs.