People sleep less than before. Why? and what are the effects of this?

Compared to several decades ago, people in today's world have an insufficient number of times for sleeping. This essay will clarify the reason as well as the consequences of sleep deprivation.

Many factors are contributing to sleep deprivation, especially for the workforce. Firstly, many companies in the world urge the worker to work long hours as they want to achieve a certain purpose, for example, to improve productivity or to meet the market needs. Consequently, the employees have to perform their duties more than 40 hours in a week. Secondly, for the metropolitan city such as Jakarta where the public transportations are inefficient to accommodate an increasing number of commuters, the workers required at least 2 hours in a day to go and ford from home and the workplace. Thus, it is time that they should be used for resting, yet, it is spent on the journey to the working place.

The lack of the number of sleep would lead to several detrimental problems. First and foremost, overworking employees will have a higher risk of accident at work. The current research in the United Kingdom reveals that the workers having sleep time below the recommended hour in a day will be risk 3-times greater to expose to an accident at the working place. Moreover, this behaviour will bring out some of the health-related issues such as obesity and mortality. As a result, this habit not only will lead the problems for the worker but also a country as the health insurance will be increasing dramatically.

To sum up, lack number of sleep is resulted by various reasons such as company policy and mass transportation system in a country, and this issue will result in several consequences such as an accident in the working area and health problems.