A public safety is of the highest importance, it is often necessary to test new products on animals. It is better for a few animals to suffer than for human life to be placed at risk by untested products.

Testing new products on animal such as lab rats and guinea pigs has been a widely recognised methodology by pharmacists and scientists in order to ensure that they are suitable for human usage. However, some claim that this practice is inhumane and violates animal cruelty. In my opinion, animal experimenter is righteous and brings more benefits than harms.

The first point is that human stands at the top of food chain in the current world. The law of nature, originated from Darwin's evolution theory, has been retained since the beginning of time: "survival of the fittest" meaning that natural selection happens where the strong prey on the weaker to ensure survival. It is only natural that we humans have the right to utilise small animals to obtain a better mean of survival. In addition, the experiments are done on a small amount of animal which obviously will not endanger the entire species.

The second point is to guarantee safety of human being. If the product is not tested, it is logically impossible to see all the potential effects on human. Besides, untested products are not allowed to be circulated in the market as they are deemed unsafe for consumption. Unknown effects of products can even cause outbreak of serious issues such as epidemic or large scale contamination. It can be argued that lives of small animals far outweigh the consequences of these disasters.

Lastly, some might dispute that there are alternated methods for testing which do not involve animal lives. Obviously, all lives are equal thus there would be no need for sacrificing animals if there are more effective ways of testing. Unfortunately, there is currently no better way. Computer simulation, with the most advanced technology, is by far the best substitute which can be used to predict the effects of drugs. However, human bodies are complex and contain a great number of unknowns which can be allergic to components of drugs. There have been many scientifically explainable cases of reactions of human body to drugs. Animal testing is an extra step needed to be done for safety reason.

In conclusion, I definitely support the methodology of animal testing for new products. It is the most ethical, effective and reliable way to prevent unknown events caused by brand-new products on public safety.