In recent years, the structure of a family and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

It is true that these days the family structure has considerably changed, and the changing roles of men and women in the family has become increasingly similar. While this may have several benefits, I believe that the drawbacks are greater.

There have been some changes in modern families. Firstly, the size of family has been smaller than ever before. Today, people tend to live in a nuclear family with parents and children. This is contrast to large/extended families where several generations (live under the same roof) share the same accommodation. Secondly, the parental roles have changed significantly. In the past, fathers were breadwinners in a family, while mothers remained at home to take care of children. However, modern husbands tend to share household duties with their wives, and the wives also enter the labor market to find a job, contributing to the improvement of financial condition of family (and earns some money). This leads to a growing gender equality.

I believe that the potential drawbacks of these changes are more significant.On the positive side, living in a small family means the conflicts between generations can be avoided. Young people can lead their own lifestyle that they want without being complained by the others. For example, In many Vietnamese families, the old like home – cooked food and listen to solf music, whereas the young prefer to eat fast food and loud music. On the negative side, the transformation of families can result in child neglect. Many young parents have no time to take care their offspring due to their busy work, and they are likely to send their progenies to nursery school from an early age. Lack of parental interaction may have negative effects on the overall development of children.

In conclusion, I believe that the disadvantages of changes in the roles of family members and the family structure are more significant than its advantages.