is resources allocated in science?

Many people have strong opinions about the importance of scientific research in the modern world. “Science” is a very broad field, but I am going to argue that much current scientific research represents a waste of time and money that could better be used elsewhere. To support this view, I will consider two major areas of expenditure that I strongly believe are highly wasteful of financial resources and the time of talented people.

First, I firmly believe that much of current medical research represents a huge misuse of resources. Medical research is driven by the profit of drug companies, not people’s needs. For example, many of the chronic illnesses of rich countries, such as cancer, heart disease, diabetes and arthritis are a result of lifestyle choices. Rather than spending billions on new medicines, people should be encouraged to make better choices-but there is little profit in this for companies. At the same time, millions of people still die in developing countries because they do not have access to the basics for healthy living, such as clean water, antibiotics and vaccinations. These could easily be provided with the money currently used for research into lifestyle illnesses.

Secondly, another of the largest areas for scientific research is into weapons and military equipment. Again, I think that much of this expenditure is unnecessary, and countries can and should opt out from this arms race. This would both save s lot of money and free talented people to spend their time in more socially useful areas. The money saved could better be used to improve the basic living conditions of people and this would be a “war” well worth fighting.

Consequently, I believe that far too many resources are currently allocated to “science” and there is a widespread believe, false in my opinion, that anything called “scientific” must be good. I do not think this is true and I think that much current spending is wasteful and many talented people could better be deployed elsewhere.