Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

People have different takes on students' freedom in terms of class choices. While some propose they should be able to make their own decision, others project the idea that it is compulsory for them to attend lessons just like everybody. This essay aims to elaborate on the strengths and weaknesses of both schools of thought.

On one hand, granting schoolgoers the right to attend only their desired classes may come with many benefits. Most notably, students get to develop a sense of identity and sharpen important skills unique to the chosen fields of interest. For instance, in Vietnam, most secondary and high schools offer optional I.T courses for students to enrol on should they feel the skills useful for their future career development. However, the problem with this practice is that it requires students to have a good sense of responsibility for themselves and a certain level of commitment to stay the course. In many cases, students choose a class simply because it is easy to get top marks without having to work hard and consequentially, miss out on chances to realise their full potential.

On the other hand, making it mandatory for all students to enrol on the same classes also has its own fair share of merits and demerits. Obviously, it facilitates educational standardization, which will improve the overall quality of the future workforce, as everyone receives similar training in the same number of subjects. This can be observed in publicly funded academic institutes all over Vietnam, where students are requested to follow the same curriculum established by the Ministry of education. However, the disadvantage of this approach revolves around how students' innate abilities will not be fully harnessed, as they have to spend time cultivating knowledge in multiple areas while their talents are not properly nutured.

In conclusion, I believe that subjects that provide basic skills and knowledge should be made compulsory for all students, whereas subjects that deal with talents could be rendered optional.