Some believe that IQ determines how well students perform at school, others think perseverance is the key to academic success. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Some people contend that IQ is a useful tool to evaluate students' performance at school whist opponents admit to the importance of perseverance. Personally, I am certain that grit plays the main role in academic success.

It goes without saying that the person who performs well in the IQ is intelligent. In other words, they are able to learn quickly, and effectively absorb a wide body of academic resources. By way of illustration, the ones had stratospheric IQ scores are usually straight A students because of their quick access to what they have learnt. In comparison with others, these students are far more likely to succeed in academic life.

However, there is nothing to assure that the intelligent students might get back to their feet when problems occur or anytime they have to contend with their obstacles in studying, but grit. What happened to Jack Ma as he was young is a case in point. In order to learn English, he guided Western tourists without receiving money from them. He was persistent to guide the tourists and communicate with them by English eventhough it was severe weathers or not. Now, he is an eminent English lecturer. As a matter of fact, Perseverance is sticking with students' future, day in, day out, not just for the week, not just for the month, but for years, and working really hard to make that future a reality.

In conclusion, the question about either IQ or perseverance the ruler to measure how students success at school are still being agrued. To my mind, the answer is clear, and that is perseverance.