In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some countries, people often choose to own a home instead of renting it. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, and although it is beneficial for the buyer, I generally think it is not economically beneficial to society.

Homeownership is preferred in some East Asian countries such as Vietnam because it is considered by many to be an asset that they have a responsibility to preserve for their children. They themselves may have also inherited these properties from the previous generation and are worshipping their ancestors there, which their children are expected to continue. Living in a rented house for a lifetime, many people will consider it a failure in their lives. Homeownership can also be driven by an unstable economy, causing a sense of insecurity for people about risks such as job loss or rising prices. Owning a shelter is definitely more secure than renting a home without knowing whether the owner is going to raise the rent.

Although the desire to own a home may make people feel more secure, it is generally not economically beneficial to society. The capital value of a habitation is often very large, so investing it in business will create jobs and greater total assets for society. One might argue that if people want to own a home, then the housing project owners will be able to sell it. This is true, but if more people do not, the rental market will be more developed, and the houses and apartments will still be in demand. The only difference is that housing services will grow, creating more jobs and a more dynamic society.

In short, in my opinion, although house ownership has some spiritual benefits for individual owners, economically it is not good for society.