In some large cities, people have to pay a fee when they drive their cars into the city center, in a policy to reduce the number of cars in the city. Give reason in support of and opposing this policy, and give your own opinion.

As many large cities around the world become increasingly crowded and polluted, imposing a charge on cars that enter city centres is an attractive idea. Although it does have some drawbacks, I support this proposal, though with some reservations.

Making drivers pay a fee to drive into the centre of the city would discourage some drives, which would reduce the amount of traffic congestion as well as air pollution. Public buses and trams would then be able to get to their destinations faster, so commuters would not spend so much time travelling to and from work. City centres would be more pleasant places for workers, shoppers, cyclists and pedestrians in general.

It can be argued that this policy would discriminate against those who are less well off, because wealthy drives would not be deterred by such a fee. Also, if the government failed to invest more money in public transport, travel by bus or tram could become more uncomfortable for the greater number of passengers. On top of that, it could be logistically and technically very difficult to install the equipment needed at the many points at which cars could enter the city centre.

I think that this policy is a good idea, though the fee on cars would not necessarily have to be enforced on weekends or late at night. This policy has the potential to make city centres more accessible for the general public provided that there was an efficient public transport system that was a viable alternative to the private car.

Overall, this policy is worth trying in order to reduce the domination of city centres by motor vehicles and to create and more attractive urban environment.