Some parents believe that reading entertainment books is a waste of time. In their opinion, children should only read serious, educational books. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own experience.

Books are called the treasure of knowledge. Presently, some parents opine that reading books providing amusement to the children is worthless and it leads to wastage of time. In contrast, Reading academic and other meaningful books is advocated by them. In my view, offsprings must have freedom to read recreational books along with academic books. This essay intends to discord with the given statement firmly and some logical points will be discussed in upcoming paragraphs.

There are numerous points to endorse my point of view. First and foremost, entertaining books based on stories can be a massive source of inspiration for pupils. Lessons taught by such books can have life changing impacts on them. Taking a real life example into consideration, in my childhood, on my 11th birthday, I was gifted a storybook by my aunt who is a teacher by profession. This book had some great motivational stories. One of them with the title of ‘union is strength’ was the story of an old farmer who had four sons who were quarrelsome and lacking unity. But, farmer brought unity among them with the help of few sticks. This book seriously inspired me towards the value of unity and the importance of such entertaining books is thus very clear.

Further emphasising on my point of view, children may get frustrated or bored if they are forced to read only educational books. This will sure curtail the interest of adolescents towards reading. Needless to say, they should be free to read some recreational books so that they do not lose their interest or reading habits. Last but not the least, reading interesting and entertaining books can assist children to get rejuvenated and remain psychologically fit.Hence, amusing books keep children gainfully busy in their leisure time.

To recapitulate, undeniably, academic, general knowledge and history books are of great importance; however, we cannot underestimate the value of entertaining books. It is, therefore, clear that misconception of parents needs to be addressed.