Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

With the increasing competition in the school and workplace, education has become the most important part of parenthood. Some commentators claim that children should achieve some educational outcomes even during their leisure time. From my point of view, it would be overwhelmed for children and unnecessary at all.

To begin with, I must admit that there are many activities that children enjoy doing can contain various knowledge and practical skills. This is because bountiful games and TV programs are based on reality with the purpose of teaching children about the world. According to statistical research performed by Oxford Psychology for Children, people who like team sports, like basketball, football, and tennis, etc., in their childhood would have better interpersonal skills and stronger resistance than those who seldom participate in sports events. Sports, as a very good leisure activity, is obviously educational for children since it teaches them to work hard, care about and communicate with others.

On the other hand, some activities definitely have some other benefits rather than being a lesson. If patents and adults insist on adding educational things on some activities, the leisure parts of them would disappear. For instance, children enjoy playing video games with friends because they can have fun together and escape from hard school life. In this light, diminishing the fun from playing computer games is just like deprive chances to make friends and release stress for children.

In conclusion, although some games have no educational purpose for children, they still have a vital role in their life. The burden in children’s shoulder is heavier enough and they should be allowed to do something ‘useless’.