Some people claim that museums and art galleries are not

needed today, because everyone can see historical objects or art works by

computer. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the significant development of cutting-edge technologies has affected people’s lives irreversibly. Museums and art galleries are considered no longer necessary, as special historical objects can be seen easily on the internet. Although the immense spiritual value of these aesthetic buildings is undeniable, I strongly believe the government does not need to preserve it anymore.

On one hand, It is expensive to maintain museums and art galleries, and the government has to provide funding for these institutions. If national or local authorities allocate resources to keep these cultural facilities open, there will not be any available money spent on education, healthcare, and social services. Moreover, in this digital age, instead of spending long hours driving to the museums or art galleries, people can easily access historical information thanks to the internet. Consequently, enjoying cultural sculptures or abstract pictures from home could not only conserve the state budget but also save personal time.

On other hand, images of historical collections on the internet could not provide people with real experience and feeling as seeing artefacts directly. Firstly, the buildings which house their collections are themselves part of people's tangible cultural heritage. Because museums store numerous prized possessions which could help people acknowledge their ancestor’s occurrence or illustrate the significant differences in social classes. In fact the feeling of awe on dinosaur skeletons due to their enormous size would be impossible to experience by simply looking at images on the internet. That is why it would be an immense loss if these artistic systems are closed to the public.