Some people decide to start their own business instead of working for a company or organization.

Do the advantages for people working for their own business outweigh the disadvantages?Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today several people choose to become entrepreneurs, making their fortune starting from scratch. This choice has certainly many benefits, even if it is not always easy to take up this career. I believe that it is a brave and huge decision to make, but it can give many satisfactions over time.

First of all, being self-employed has some advantages. You have the freedom to make any kind of decision regarding your company, without being governed by someone else. So the independence is one of the main reasons. A further reason is the fact that you can have a flexible work schedule to manage as you wish. Contrary to this full autonomy, however, the entrepreneur assumes full responsibility for all his choices and this means that he has to work harder and with dedication to succeed. Clearly this also means that he takes on all possible business risks too.

On the other hand, some people opt to be employees and this option has its advantages too. Some of them are the fact that the employee has certainly less responsibilities, he has not to make important decisions and he works for a certain number of hours, then he is free for the rest of the day. An additional benefit is enjoying the monthly pay or the oppurtunity to change his occupation if he wants to. However, even in this case there are drawbacks sometimes, such as when the employer does not pay on time or does not garantee the health insurance or others benefits.

To conclude, some people decide to be self-employed, while some people prefer to be employee for a company or organisation. Having made some considerations about the advantages and disadvantages, I think that I would prefer to work as employee for someone else because I would run less risks and I would be more relaxed.