Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that young people should be able to choose any branch which could be art or social sciences, while others feel that they should merely give their efforts to field related to science and technology. This essay argues that in spite of the fact that more science-based occupations would be more beneficial in future, the issue of young people’s interests and natural abilities is a more crucial point.

On the one hand, the greater availability of job opportunities in the fields such as science and technology may affect people’s thoughts while choosing area to study. Namely, the one’s quality of life can be increased with the help of high-paid jobs such as mechanical and computer engineering. Moreover, contributing to social betterment could be performed by specific university subjects such as space engineering or field of medicine, meaning that countries’ economic growth can be sustained. To give an example, the well-known scientist, Elon Musk, has produced eco-friendly cars in these days as well as his space studies and this increases economic welfare of USA in return.

On the other hand, it is worth remembering that every individual has unique skills and interests about different subjects and interference these realities as parents or educators could create unmotivated individuals in future. In other words, if youngsters had a chance to study whatever they want, they would give a better service for their citizens as contended individuals. Furthermore, because of intense working life, majority of the people experience psychological problems such as anxiety or depression and this means increasing demands for social science graduates, for example, psychologists. According to a recent study which was conducted in METU in 2016 reckoned that therapists and clinical psychologists are much-needed occupations than computer and software engineering since stressful work schedules are inevitable in these days.

In conclusion, although studying science and technology can be more beneficial for social and individual betterment, studying university subjects in the light of the one’s interests and skills could give more real benefits in future.