Some people think that tourism does harm to local cultures, and therefore should be banned. Others think otherwise, claiming that local cultures are affected by many factors and therefore tourism should not be banned.

The green industry is one of the most necessary fields that helps the economy of the whole country. It is said that places with rich traditions and a special lifestyle is often benefited a lot. But a group of people believe that the beauty of the particular culture will be lost because of the tourists so it would better to ban them. While others give an opinion that tourism is not the only factor that harms the culture.

Although tourism helps the locals with jobs and income, they can lose their specialists forever. When something sounds mysterious to other people, they will come to see it and when it’s getting too crowded, it will give bad effects on the destination itself as well as the life of the locals. If the area famous for “ruong bac thang” in the North of Viet Nam, it attracts tourists from everywhere. And then, the locals will soon find out that wandering around being the tour guide or selling souvenirs helps them make more money on the far more easier way in comparison to working on the fields. That’s when they accept to give up their tradition and depend on tourism. Because of those reasons, banning tourists coming to town is the best way to protect what we have.

On the opposite to those views above, culture is created and affected by time, the weather, the natural habitat,… and tourism is only a small percentage. Indeed, culture can only be changed if the local allow. I would take all of the Vietnamese culture as an example; Tet holiday is a special occasion when the culture of the Vietnamese people can be showed off the most.

“Fat meat, pickled onions, red parallel sentences.

New Year pole, strings of firecrackers, green Chung cake.”

They are all the very traditional food and things we do in Tet from generation to generation. We do not allow anybody to steal it; it’s a gift of spiritual life and although sometimes it’s getting a bit hard to prepare, we always try to do our best to have time gathering with families and have a peaceful time together however what happens. Knowing that if we gave up Tet, places would be less crowded and there would be more places for tourists and prices would also be more reasonable. It is part of our life for almost thousands of years ago, and it has not been changed much.

From my perspective, banning something is not a good idea. It up to us, whether we accept to make money from it and also make sure it always attractive and important to us or not. A culture is a thing that can not easily be changed but it is very easy to lose. And even sometimes, tourism can help the area grow and become wildly known by people in the world, more reputation means more income and more money.

In total, there are different viewpoints on whether tourism is harmed or not. If it is banned, the locals in rural areas will never have a better standard of life and their outstanding culture cannot be widely spread. Or we will open to tourists to come and visit but not allow them to harm and affect our normal life.