Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female study in every subject. Do you agree or disagree.

University admission is a topic that attracts various propositions. One of which suggests that intakes of students in both genders should be equal. I personally disagree with this idea, for several reasons.

Forefront among these is the compatibility of each student to certain fields. This could take root in either the academic background or the innate orientation of the said student. For instance, natural science subjects, which require more logical thinking, such as astronomy and physics, tend to draw in more males. By contrast, their female counterparts may prefer social science, including psychology and literature, as they get to delve deep into human’s feelings. While admission boards should not favor one gender over another, striving to achieve a perfect gender ratio is simply impractical, as candidates also base their university application on their own strengths and weaknesses.

Furthermore, by fixing equal numbers of students in both genders, there comes the risk of unfairly disqualifying students who can meet all of entry requirements. Consequentially, it might result in social resentment among students and hypothetically, insufficient supplies of personnel in some industries. Instead of assessing students based on their gender, universities should compare the students’ demonstrated ability and requirements of the faculty they are applying for. Doing so is more beneficial, as it not only allows students to have a fair chance at receiving specialized education that suits their ability but also ensures a class’s academic standards.

In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that gender should not be a factor in the process of determining whether an applicant deserves his or her spot in a university. Their ability, on the other hand, should be the focal point on which evaluation is made.