WRITING TASK 2

A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such a honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that a lot of people judge others by the status they have in the society with regard to their job title and the things they own in life. however, I would say that I partially agree to this and believe that not everyone is the same and the nature of the relationship we have with others ultimately determines how we judge them.

In this age and time, people work hard to fit in their society's standards, and the amount of money they own is the most important factor in achieving these standards. Money makes people feel safe and secure. Money also allows people to enjoy luxury. In order for a lot of people to have respect for others in a society, they pay close attention to the job title others carry and the things they own, as these are directly related to the money in their pocket.

On the other hand, job status and material possession doesn't help much. it is not possible to have a good relationship on a long term basis with a person who has a successful carrier but lacks good character. For example, for a husband and wife, they first need to establish a good relationship based on trust, kindness and mutual respect. Other things are secondary. So a woman might be impressed by a man because of his financial status and his material gains, however, if he lacks true family values, she will not be happy committing to life long commitment such as marriage. Furthermore, a lot of kids in today's world lack proper care and love since parents are usually busy trying to fit in the society. These kids are more likely to grow up and look for people who would give them love and care as opposed to money and material.

In summary, even though a lot of people in this world today are running after material, I still think a lot of other people are aware that material does not help on a long term basis, and so they give priority to an individual's personality and character.