Cities are becoming overcrowded.

What are the causes of this situation, and what can be done to improve this situation?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Leading a better life style is a dream of every individual in both city and countrt side. The realization of limited opportunities in the rural area is pushing majority of the youth to urban locations. However, this urbanization is creating a major problem of overpopulation in the cities. This essay will further discuss the issues caused due to overcrowding and the probable solutions to combat them.

Firstly, undoubtedly the growth in hight income opportunities in IT, banking, healthcare and many other sectors in mega cities is one of the major reason for which people prefer to leave their hometown. The second reason is for education. The enormous number of people moving to larger towns is causing a major concern for accommodation. More and more people demanding places to stay is indirectly luring apartment owners to charge humungous rent from tenants. For instance, around 4to 5 years back the rent for an unfurnished house in a well maintained society in a city like Pune was around 6-7k, which has gone up to 13-14k today.

The government and the larger private companies should work together and introduce opportunities at the rural level itself which in first place will help limit the migration of people and diminish the further loop of problem developed.

Another issue arising out of overcrowding is transportation. As the clan grows the number of options available for commuting start falling short. The biggest example of this is Mumbai city. Although, there are numerous ways of transportation available like busses, taxis, local trains one would observe these are always full at the peak hours. People are crumbled in the local trains so much that there is no space to breathe.

The only resort to solve this problem is to introduce more options for people to move from one place to other. The local bodies can work on new modes of transportation like air busses or underground metros.

Overpopulation is becoming a concern all over the world. The government and multinationals should come up with an integrated plan to curb the problem at the root itself.