Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

It is true that large amounts of nourishment are misused in the worldwide every day. There could be several reasons for this situation, and I believe that both governments and individuals can take steps to mitigate this issue.

There are several reasons involve for wasting food in the world. Firstly, People have enjoyed social gathering on different occasions. Some people conceive an idea that arranging more food items can be broadens their prestige in the society. Thus, often they arrange any social events without count of guests’ food consumption, which can create a vulnerable situation for wasting foods. A recent survey shows that 40% of foods are wasted from several cultural festivals or family occasions such as weddings, birthday and New Year parties. Evidently, massive amounts of food wastage are formed from there. Another reason is that sometimes parents do over care about their offspring dietary. Hence, they will prepare the food for their children at mealtime are not cognitive with consumption, and these extra foods are treated as wastage. Furthermore, some restaurants offer buffet meal packages where the customers interested to fill their plates with food items rather than eating, and that way lot of food items have wasted from the restaurants.

However, both states and citizens could take several actions to tackle this problem. Firstly, governments could introduce taxes or laws for certain limit of festival food to reduce excessive estimation. Secondly, they could create awareness campaign about wasting of food in social media such as drama or advertisements, and raise parents knowledge about their children nutrition. Finally, some individual restaurants owners could encourage their consumers by poster or distributing leaflet with awareness notes. For instance, a restaurant named ‘food tour’ in Thailand has placard with awareness notes such as ‘do not waste your food’ which could remind customers to ordering food precisely.

In conclusion, both governments and people must play their part for resolving the food waste in our societies.