Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. what can government do to address these problems. what can individual people do?

Today, human activities are becoming major threats to the environment causing unsustainability, but we can take certain steps to save our planet. This essay will discuss the activities that harm our environment and also put forth the measures to be taken by the government and individual to overcome the problem.

Two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste. Innumerable factories and vehicles used by the people emit greenhouse gases that cause global warming resulting in adversely affects our planet. Also, an increasing number of population leads to more waste produce that pollutes rivers and oceans which affects marine life too.

The government could take certain steps to reduce the impact of greenhouse gases on the environment. They could introduce a law to restrict the industrial waste in the atmosphere or to force companies to use renewable source of energy such as solar, wind power etc. Imposing green taxes on drivers and airline companies is another way to regulate the emission that will encourage people to use public transport and take fewer flights to abroad.

Apart from this, Individuals should go the extra mile to protect the environment, as natural disasters are being increased by another passing day. For instance, the flood in Kedarnath in the year 2013 destroyed massively the life and infrastructure. Similarly, earthquake often causes demolishing of buildings. Planting more and more trees is one of the best ways to mitigate the problem. Besides this, using paper or cloth bag rather than plastic bags for shopping and disposal of waste will contribute towards the protection of the environment.

In conclusion, a healthy environment is quintessential to live a healthy life. It is the prime responsibility of both government and individual to look after the sustainability of environment.