Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. However, the governments of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer nations in such areas.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is an undeniable truth of today’s time that numerous poverty-stricken countries are in dire need of financial assistance from economically developed nations. To such an extent that, they do not have access to basic necessities of livelihood, such as, food, shelter, and medicine. Therefore, I staunchly support that, one of the fundamental responsibilities of developed nations is to support and uplift lesser developed ones’.

Although, it is the case that super powers of the globe have been giving financial aid to the countries who need them. However, the ways and amounts that are required are marginal to suffice their needs. The USA, for instance, have been rendering financial support to Democratic Republic of Congo, but still, it is rated to have maximum illiteracy and worst medical facilities. Therefore, along with financial support, they must also assist them to better utilize the funds. For example, they can use the money to build new industries, which, indeed can boost their economy and well-being of the nation.

The global economic crisis, on the other hand, has recently impacted all the major economies and resulted in down-sizing the aid towards the needy societies. This, I believe, is not a positive approach. Rather, in such difficult times, developed countries must take along lesser developed nations by better utilizing their natural and human resources. China, for instance, has been investing colossal amounts in many African countries by initiating various infrastructure projects for the mutual economic benefit. The recent, CPEC (China Pakistan Economic Corridor) has proven to be a great success providing a plethora of jobs and money to poor people of Pakistan.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that food, education, and medical assistance are everyone’s right. Therefore, developed countries must beyond any doubt, attend to poorer nations. More importantly, apart from mere financial support, they must invest on people by assisting them in setting up industries and by educating their future generations.