International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

There is an irrefutable fact that globalization enables travel to be a universal leisure activity. Furthermore, it is widely known that international tourism has made enormous contribution to many areas. However, I truly believe that its drawbacks do exist, not to mention that they overpower the benefits of itself.

On the one hand, welcoming a large number of foreign visitors brings about some profits to the host countries and travelers. Firstly, due to the cultural diversity among a myriad of tourist destinations, people who travel abroad can have thousands of fantastic experience of exotic gastronomy and culture. For instance, most Western travelers coming to Vietnam fall in love with Vietnamese food, and learn to use chopsticks as a part of understanding Vietnamese tradition. Secondly, international tourism has shown its significance in terms of economy. Not only does it decrease unemployment rate dramatically by creating innumerable jobs related to service sector, hospitality sector and entertainment sector, but it also enhances local tourism revenue which is a vital source of income for many countries.

On the other hand, worldwide travel accompanying many negative aspects exerts detrimental influence on local citizens and nature. The most catastrophic effect is that it makes chance for disease outbreak to take place, and perhaps it turns into a disastrous epidemic putting humanity in jeopardy. That the COVID-19 pandemic reaches the global scale rapidly after its first deriving from Wuhan (China) is an obvious example of this demerit. In addition, since tourism development includes boosting modern infrastructure like airport, railway, hotel and restaurant, it actually leads to many environmental issues such as deforestation, soil erosion and the extinction of flora and fauna abundance. Finally, there also invariably arises some environmental pollution. The vast movements of tourist, for instance, demand a great use of transportation system, which partly causes air contamination. Likewise, water pollution making coral reefs and marine creatures disappear boils down to the increasing amount of waste and sewage extracted from tourism industry.

Henceforth, although international travel is considered a boon to many countries, it seems to me that the shortcomings are more notable than its merits.