Many people believe that the government should not spend money on exploring the space. What is your opinion?

Many people are convinced that money should not be spent too much on exploring the space rather than doing the significant things. I personally subcribe to the view that in our reality government need to spend money on our basic needs on Earth.

One justification given for exploring space is a waste of money and that there are more urgent needs to be addressed on earth, such as reducing poverty and preventing environmental destruction. So the first thing to consider is government should care about people health and environment. For example, they should spend more money for social programs, ecological projects or such things as development cure for cancer. In addition to this, some people are losing their shelters by too much rain or other natural disasters. These problems cannot be solved by just a group of people. We have to solve the problems on our planet first before we explore other planets where no living organisms are living.

A further reason I believe that space exploration should not be spent money on because government would run out of sources that fills country budget. For example, in my native country it is taxes and export earnings. Hereby, to gain enough money to spend on, our government should develop at first natural resources, industry, transport systems and high technology. This leads to profitable government budget and effective economy. Undoubtedly, space exploration is now not profitable project and spending too much money on it will lead to default. In my opinion, now in case of global financial crisis to save profitable budget and stable economy is the main point of government. Only when this goal will be achieved we can think about space.

In conclusion, I believe that there are some more important things to spend money than exploring outer space. Spending money not for our basic need can lead to bad consequences such as gap in country budget and bad environment.