plastic shopping bags contribute the pollution of land and sea, some think

they should be banned.

Do you agree and disagree.

Plastic bags are used everywhere in our daily life. Be it shopping at a nearby convenience store or large mall, plastic bags are used to everywhere.However, disposal of these bags is become huge cause of concern for many countries.Whether administrators should forbid the use the product? this conundrum is discussed in this essay in greater detail.

Usually, after use, plastics bags are disposed of in the garbage bin and waste authorities either dump these plastic bags into landfills to disintegrate over years causing harm to wildlife, wildlife habitat and humans.Alternatively, these bags are thrown into the water bodies, which endangers marine life and causes their early death. many ocean enthusiasts in South east Asia, when they snorkel or dive into the sea, find plastic debris instead of exotic aquatic animals.Furthermore, not only our oceans are polluted with this dump, our river are also clogged up with this waste. many rivers carry the trash over the distance making river water undrinkable.The Yangtze, the world’s third-longest river, is the largest contributing catchment, dumping some 330,000 tonnes of plastic into the east China sea. this kills over millions of sea mammals, birds and fishes and the adjoining ecosystem on the land.

One may counter the above argument, supporting use of plastic. many shops charge customers for using plastic bags while shopping, ban on plastic bag could disrupt income sources for businesses. Also, many shoppers use them as bin liners to dispose their daily waste.A complete ban on usage of plastic bags could result in exploiting other resources to substitute plastic such as cotton bags. this could, in turn lead to mass scale production of cotton by farmers and so, excessive use of fertilisers to grow the cotton, which could pollute water bodies with excessive chemicals, seaweeds, which so kill ocean life and human life.

Based on the aforesaid discussion, anything in excess is not good. resources on earth are limited and considering both pros and cons, consumers should be mindful using plastic bags.