In some countries young people are encouraged to work, or to travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantage and disadvantage for young people who decided to do this.

Before embarking their journey to universities after high schools, these students are often encouraged to get employed or wander for a year. This essay believes that financial independence along with work experience and exposure to the real-world are the pros, whereas influence of money and drugs could be the major drawbacks.

First and foremost, a year after intermediate could be utilized to gain work experience. This is because most of the universities’ approach are towards professional degree and a year of work experience could also bring monitory support, which could eventually help them in their college. For example, recent studies in the University of California suggests, students with work experience and financial support performs better specifically in STEM courses. Secondly, these students are also encouraged to travel, this will only acquaint them about various aspect of world. For example, a research in Yale university claims travelling has been a key factor for students to develop their creativity.

However, the major disadvantage of break after high-school, and employment in this period could only increase their chances of not returning to academia. It means that once a student starts earning, the sense of financial independence discourages them to return to universities for degree, this is because since their childhood days students are advised to perform better in school in order to find a suitable job. But once getting employed students finds studies troublesome. Additionally, travelling could bring these adolescents in the dark-world of drugs, often at this vulnerable age the addiction of these hazardous products is common. For instance, a recent data published by the New York police department suggests that young adults are more affected by drug abuse, specifically those who are not living with their family.

To conclude, financial independence along with some experience could be good factor to work, as well as travelling could bring out the spark of creativity, but this could also go against the students discouraging them to join college or could be prone to drugs.