Some people believe, limiting the speed is the best way for the road safety, while other believe there are other ways to do this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over-speeding, in opinion of some people, is one of major causes of road mishaps. Others argue that there are other measures required more importantly to be taken to mitigate the increasing number of accidents these days.

Decreasing the allowed speed limits can help in increasing road safety. As the statistics from traffic control section Karachi suggest that 65% incidents of road mishaps last year included of speed exceeding instances. However with new laws implemented, speedometers are installed at interval to keep better monitoring activities and subsequent fines are applied to non-compliant instances. This has proven to reduce the number of accidents and has cut down the same to a rate of 30%.

However, some other people are of the opinion that there are other factors that can help road incidents reduction. One of such factors is implementing strict compliance of using seat belts while driving. Another slack point is the driving exam and mechanism to issue driving licence. Candidates should be well examined of the possessed driving skills and physical and mental health in order to get qualified. A case study of Karachi from last year stated that with better driving examination, officials reduced incident rate by 15%.

In my opinion, improved road safety calls for not only speed limitations and associated fines but it requires equal importance on improving the driving licence issuance system. Licencee should be well aware of laws and their application. This can altogether result in healthy and successful road system.