Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Teaching methodology plays a prominent role in academic development of a student. A better part of society believes that educational institutions tend to focus more on theoretical knowledge instead of practical one. I agree with the statement as this monotonous way of teaching has been going on since ages. But what I believe is, now is the time to bring a change and shift towards more of a demonstration based learning.

Bringing a change into the system while giving more attention to the demonstration part would help learners to grasp more quickly as they would not be getting bored. This in turn will result in more focus by them. There have been numerous experiments in some educational institutions wherein even the non-practical subjects were taught by using some props instead of going with the old school way of teaching. These experiments literally outweighed the results when compared with the general way of teaching. It is because of this increase in focus and quick learning that they were able to understand things more clearly.

Furthermore, it is not uncommon that in theoretical subjects, teachers normally expect book based answers and not the creative ones. This in turn would restrict the creative ability of those students who are not good at mugging up, as they cannot express their understanding of the topic in their own way and words. There has been a survey in Stanford University in USA, wherein students who had better IQ scores performed way too low in theory subjects, as they had to write the answers as per the books and not with their understanding of the topic.

To conclude, conceptual based learning is prioritized by teaching institutions over applied one, but with major focus on practical sessions, these institutions would make the student’s future better.