Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say, economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop now. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable to say that, in the world where a large proportion of the population is in poor condition and hungry for food. Some proponents argue that economic surge is the only lucrative way to stop poverty and hunger. While others impose that, the environmental deterioration has resulted from the economic blooming of the newfangled society. I totally accede with the statement that, our economy should be developed to alleviate the poverty level.

On the one hand, a flourishing economy will cause diminishing unemployment and finally, it will culminate the end of starvation in the world. Thus, the task of developing the economy should definitely continue. For instance, if we compare the developed nations with underdeveloped, the only difference which I surmise is that in developed nations the government policies are exemplary to prevent the economy from getting downwards and ensured the available resources to the society.

Additionally, economic development would gradually enhance equality in wealth distribution among citizens. Now these days, inequality is one of the significant aftereffects of underdeveloped society which finally results in poverty and hunger. For example, the US considered as the world richest country in the world and the economic system is laudable because the authorities are much cognizant to avoid the inequality in wealth distribution. But India is still challenging to tackling this issue thus a major portion of our population is still beneath the poverty line.

On the other hand, however, despite the aforementioned setbacks, addressing the issue of environmental deterioration is still a priority. There are several damages to nature through the implementation of unsustainable development. For example, Ozone depletion is one severe consequence of economic industrialization. Also, deforestation for wood exploitation is a major factor for massive soil erosion and air pollution.

So both economic development and environmental protection are equally significant and should treat in a balanced way.

In conclusion, economic growth should not be prevented in any manner as it eradicates the world poverty and starvation.